wiring zone valves

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-21-08, 07:08 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: upstate new york
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
wiring zone valves

Hi: Have replaced old cast iron with pex. Kept cast iron radiators (hot water) on first floor. Second floor used fin and tube. Created 2 zones. Original thermostat is two wire, hooked into burner control. This wire was disconnected, and will be wired to one of the zone valves ,White-Rodgers type 1311-102 0743 the other zone will be controlled by a programmable thermostat. It has 3 wires. it is to be connected to a White-Rodgers type 1361-102 0741. I am hooking up a transformer (24v) for the valves. Problem ? The diagram shows 2 wires from the t-stat what do I do with the 3rd wire? How are these connected to the burner control? Diagram shows a T 1 and a T 2, but my controller has just T T. System has been pressure checked (air) but will need to be filled. Can I check that everything is working before firing the boiler. It's 20 degrees outside I don't want to have any freeze ups.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-21-08, 03:03 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
Can you post a link to the diagram you are looking at ?
 
  #3  
Old 11-21-08, 09:39 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: upstate new york
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
  #4  
Old 11-22-08, 07:38 AM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
OK, I'm confused ... let's see if we can clear this up.

Original system had only 1 zone. Controlled by a 2 wire thermostat, connected directly to the boiler.

You created a new zone, and installed a W-R 3 wire zone valve on each zone.

I think you are saying that you want to use the existing 2 wire thermostat to run a W-R valve ... you can't ... those valves require a 3 wire thermostat.

The diagram shows 2 wires from the t-stat what do I do with the 3rd wire?
Which diagram shows a 2 wire thermostat ? I don't see that. All the diagrams that I see show 3 wire thermostats.

One thing to keep in mind when looking at the wiring diagrams is the fact that terminals 2 and 5 on the zone valves is electrically the same point.

The reason their diagrams show T1 and T2 is because they are showing the designators on their own brand of relays, not Honeywell's ...

There will be only TWO wires coming from the zone valves going to the TT terminals on the control at the boiler.

I believe this will work:

 

Last edited by NJT; 11-22-08 at 08:57 AM.
  #5  
Old 11-22-08, 09:56 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: upstate new york
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unhappy W-R zone valves

My apologies, further explanation. The fellow who redid the system was knowledgeable, to a point. I had thought to use the original 2 wire t-stat for one zone and a 3 wire programmable for the 2nd zone. I went in the hospital for scheduled surgery. When I came home, he called and said he didn't know how to hook up the wiring for the valves and t-stats. The supply house sold him a W-R 1361-102 and a W-R 1311-102, but he only got the instructions for the 1361. These show a 2 wire t-stat. I sent you the instructions for a 1311, which shows a 3 wire t-stat. I should have looked at it better. Try this, www.whiterodgers.com/007-5422.pdf It is for the 1361-102. The control box is a Honeywell Aquastat relay L8148A
 
  #6  
Old 11-22-08, 03:11 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
Gotcha... one 3 wire, one 2 wire, then two wires to the boiler ... I'll edit the drawing ... standby ...
 
  #7  
Old 11-22-08, 03:27 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
Link didn't work ...

This one might ...

http://www.white-rodgers.com/wrdhom/...e.htm#1361-102

Is this what you needed ?

 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: