Aquastat setting question

Old 12-14-08, 04:38 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Aquastat setting question

I am new to boiler heating. I have an older oil fired boiler and baseboard heating my 2 storey 1120 foot cabin.

The boiler is set to start up at 155 degrees and shut down at 180 degrees. The return side would come back at about 135 degrees. The system is running at about 25 psi. It takes about 6 minutes to heat to 180 and about the same amount of idle time to reach 155; therefore it would do roughly five cycles per hour.

This weekend, a couple hours before leaving, I turned the heat down in all the zones and watched the temperatures. After it cooled for awhile, I forced a call for heat, let the boiler run up to near 180, and then turned down the thermostat. The temperature on the supply side continued to rise to near 230, until I forced a call for heat and it cooled quickly.

If the primary loop pump is running the supply temperature doesn't get above the aquastat shutoff temperature of 180. I was thinking that if the primary loop pump as wired to run continuously, rather than just when there is a call for heat, I should be able to turn up the aquastat setting so that it shuts off at 195 or 200. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Mike

Sponsored Links
Old 12-14-08, 08:30 PM
Received 7 Votes on 7 Posts
Originally Posted by Yamahammer View Post
I was thinking that if the primary loop pump as wired to run continuously, rather than just when there is a call for heat, I should be able to turn up the aquastat setting so that it shuts off at 195 or 200. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Mike
What would be the purpose of doing that? The boiler would operate less efficiently.
Doug

Old 12-14-08, 09:23 PM
Aquastat

Originally Posted by gilmorrie View Post
What would be the purpose of doing that? The boiler would operate less efficiently.
Doug