boiler and hydronic heating new install questions

Old 01-12-09, 06:46 AM
R
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
boiler and hydronic heating new install questions

First a little background on me and my house.

I'm not new to boilers at all, Just new to little ones. I've never run one under 400 PSI before but I am ok on the basics I think. I'm a retired Navy engineer and for all of my years in I ran steam plants, distilling plants, and all the other associated equipment.

Now that I am retired we found ourselves a nice little horse ranch to settle on with a 3000 sq ft house that used to be a church. ALmost all of the plumbing was done by the previous farmer that owned it, The electrical system would scare anyone and the two propane furnaces that heat the house suck 500 gallons of propane a month just to maintain 70 degrees in the house. That may have been cool 50 years ago when the house was built but not these days.
So I'm on a mission to modernize everything and go as green and efficient as possible and also add all the modern luxuries I can manage.

We are on well water and I have already started in the well house. There is a 500 gallon steel pressure tank out there supplied by a 5 hp high pressure sub pump. That pump is also irrigating 10 acres of my place during the growing season.
I just finished making room for a water softener and a boiler. The boiler will take over the job of our 2 electric water heaters and also replace the two furnaces in the attic.