Problems reaching the High Limit on my Burnham boiler


  #1  
Old 02-16-09, 12:16 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Problems reaching the High Limit on my Burnham boiler

Hello, I am new to the site and this is my first posting.

I have a Burnham boiler with a Honeywell L7248C electronic aquastat. The High Limit was set to 185F but would only go up to 150F. So I raised the HL to 190F to see if it would change. It didn't. The boiler gets up to the 150F and shuts down. Any idea as to why this is happening and what I can do to fix it?

Thanks in advance
 
  #2  
Old 02-16-09, 04:29 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 19,710
Upvotes: 0
Received 8 Upvotes on 6 Posts
You sure it needs fixin'?

Is the home heating properly?

As the weather warms, your thermostats might be satisfying with 150 water!

If you push the t'stat all the way to 90, will it continue to fire to the higher temp?

Are you sure the gauge is accurate? (that's a 'stock' question)
 
  #3  
Old 02-18-09, 05:50 PM
H
Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: usa
Posts: 52
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
temp

whats the low limit ?make sure it is 20 degrees apart
 
  #4  
Old 02-19-09, 06:51 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The Low Limit is automatically set by the unit and can not be overridden. I believe the manual said the LL was 15 degrees below what you set the HL for. Thanks for the response.
 
  #5  
Old 02-19-09, 06:57 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes I am afraid that it is definately not working as well as it should. The boiler is running near continuously on cold mornings where as just a month or so ago when it was extremely cold it only ran a few minutes an hour. It definately was at 185 before. It is also affecting our Super Store Hot Water. It has a much longer recupe time. If we set the temp higher on the thermostat (which we do with the programable thermostat) it will sometimes never reach the temp before the program knocks it back to a lower temp.

The guage on the burner and the temp on the aquastat both read temp of 150's so I believe the guage to be accurate or at least close. Thanks for your response.
 
  #6  
Old 02-19-09, 07:12 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 19,710
Upvotes: 0
Received 8 Upvotes on 6 Posts
I suppose there could be problem with the aquastat...

this seems to have happened rather suddenly then... kinda strange...

If the thermostats are still calling for heat, the CIRCULATOR should still be running... have you noticed if that's the case?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: