thermo dynamics s series help!

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-24-09, 05:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thermo dynamics s series help!

Hi! I have a thermo dynamics s-100 w/ honeywell triple aquastat type L8124a, c. I had a service done about a month ago, but it's still due for a cleaning. Well, the reset button is in the down position (meaning, i cannot reset it, per se), however it's not firing. I live in Maine, and it's cold here now. I won't be able to get a service person here until tomorrow at the earliest, and I have young kids in the house. Is there something else I can do to get this to fire? Any online service manuals I could access? Thanks for your input...my daughters really appreciate it!

Beloit Fencer (kevin)
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-24-09, 05:59 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
Kevin, is ANYTHING happening?
any sounds, what?
is the circulator running?
etc...

We might be able to help, but we need more info.
 
  #3  
Old 02-24-09, 06:01 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
What 'reset button' are you talking about?

Assuming oil fired?
 
  #4  
Old 02-24-09, 06:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well, I don't hear anything happening at all. The reset button is a red button sitting on a grey box which sits on a cylindrical unit on the front near the bottom. This is the reset I usually push when the unit shuts down in order to start it again. I shut off the circuit breaker to the boiler to see if it sounded any different without power...and it sounds the same...only where the power is on, there is a very faint buzzing sound.
 
  #5  
Old 02-24-09, 06:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
oh...also, the gauge for water pressure is showing close to nothing...but i don't kow if this happens when it shuts down or not, and I don't know what a "normal" reading is. there's a red dial set at 50, and the sticker on the front of the unit says that the max is 30.
 
  #6  
Old 02-24-09, 07:11 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
Kevin, this is an oil burner, correct?

Do you have more than one thermostat in the home that controls separate 'zones' on the system?
 
  #7  
Old 02-24-09, 07:12 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
Oh, the 'normal' pressure when the boiler is cold should probably fall somewhere between 12-15 PSI. You apparently don't have enough pressure in the system...
 
  #8  
Old 02-24-09, 07:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
hey...sorry...I'm kind of winding down this time of night here. yeah...we have two thermostats...both electronic. one is set at 67, the other at 64.
 
  #9  
Old 02-24-09, 07:56 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
Well, there's a couple possibilities...

IF you have what's called a Low Water Cut Off (LWCO), and you don't have enough water in the system, that will prevent the boiler from firing.

If NEITHER thermostat does anything, then it's possible that your 24VAC transformer has 'bit the dust'.

Do you want to try some things now? or do I take it yer cuttin' out for the night?
 
  #10  
Old 02-24-09, 07:57 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
One last try...

THIS IS AN OIL BURNER? IS THAT CORRECT?
 
  #11  
Old 02-24-09, 08:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Red face

Oh, sorry, I'm fizzling...three thirteen-hour shifts in a row kind of screws with the head. I think I'm done...I almost electrocuted myself a few minutes ago trying to "jump" a couple of things someone suggested I try. The hex wrench I used actually melted a little bit. Maybe I should stick to cars and electronics. I appreciate the input...and I'm sorry I was "asleep at the switch" for the last hour or so. I can't believe I actually melted a hex wrench...It stuck to the screws! It was sticking out and I had to use a flashlight to knock it off!
 
  #12  
Old 02-24-09, 08:19 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
OK, try to stay warm!

[message too short]
 
  #13  
Old 01-04-12, 06:25 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
in need of help!!

my boiler keeps cutting off what is the problem?
 
  #14  
Old 01-04-12, 06:47 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: US
Posts: 552
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Dumb Question Time,
By chance is there enough oil in the tank?


Peter
 
  #15  
Old 04-07-12, 03:47 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
same problem

hi I am having same problem. Right now there is no one available to check it.
is some one there who could help.
Thanks
 
  #16  
Old 04-28-12, 11:07 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question i have a new thermo dyamics boiler s -series s -85. I ran out of oil after bleeding the system the boiler will not fire up. The moter runs for ten seconds before turning off
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: