noisy heat pipes

Old 04-05-09, 07:02 AM
W
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
noisy heat pipes

I have a Biasi boiler that is 2 yrs old. I recently had a tech perform the annual service to the unit and have been hearing banging from the pipes after the burner runs, particularly at 4am but also at other times of the day. Prior to the service, we didn't hear any noises. This unit has been serviced before. I'm a boiler novice and would like to know the reason for the noises. I don't have access to the pipes from where the noise eminates.

Thanks for your help.

Old 04-05-09, 07:35 AM
NJT
Received 8 Upvotes on 6 Posts
If this is something that only happened immediately after it was serviced it would seem that the tech 'did something'.

You probably paid for the service, and the first thing to do is to call them back and explain the situation and ask that they come back and make it right. And don't pay again.

They'll most likely make up some excuse that something else is messed up and want you to pay... I'm not saying that something could not have happened, and it's just some weird coincidence, but use your best judgement when dealing with them.

Probably some air in the pipes or something...

Did you watch when they serviced it?
Do you know everything the tech did and touched?

Old 04-05-09, 08:36 AM
W
Thanks for your response and it is what I assumed. I was there when the tech was working on the boiler and he explained most of what he was doing. I will call the company tomorrow. I've also noticed the water temp on the boiler is very high, sometimes above 210 degrees. I'm pretty sure this isn't normal. The company seems pretty responsible so I'm hopeful they will rectify the problem.

Thanks again.

Old 04-05-09, 09:11 AM
NJT
Originally Posted by wolveaw
noticed the water temp on the boiler is very high, sometimes above 210 degrees. I'm pretty sure this isn't normal.