What should boiler settings be? Old controls..

Old 08-31-09, 07:46 AM
W
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
What should boiler settings be? Old controls..

OK. I am relatively new at this. I live in Massachusetts where it get cold in the winter. My single family house has a Arcoliner tankless boiler, model # 1BTJ2, that I would bet is around 50 years or more old. I bought the house about 18 years ago. It is oil fired with a becket burner. The burner has a Honeywell R8184 ingintion control. Early on when we bought the house we had issues with no DHW when the heat was on ( forced hot water baseboards). My Father who was a plumber at the time did an acid flush of the boiler and also added some type of restrictor valve to slow down the flow through the coil to allow the water in the coil more time to heatup. None of which helped much. He installed a Crown MS40 ( 40 gallon) indirect tank about 10 years ago. The Arcoliner has an old Detroit Lubricator aquastat on it set to 200. I am assuming this is the high setting. The back side of the burner has another old Detroit Lubricator aquastat that is set to 173. The adjustment is set on these by unscrewing a dial and moving the dial. There doesn't appear to be any differential adjustment. Very old probably. Where the pipes come out the back of the Arcoliner where the lower setting aquastat is there are two water pipes that have been cut. I am assuming this is because maybe the water does not flow through the boiler coil anymore?..... but I don't know what I am talking about. The indirect has a Honeywell Aquastat that is set at just under 130, maybe 128. I don't see any other adjustment for differential at all on the indirect heater. I am wondering if I can go about adjusting the settings during the Summer and winter to use less oil and what the settings should be while still having DHW in the fall and winter and enough heat for the winter. The question is what to adjust the settings to and how to determine what is proper