Radiant heat valve actuation excitement

Old 10-11-09, 12:54 PM
N
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Radiant heat valve actuation excitement

Hi everybody,

First, thank you for reading my post. I really appreciate it.

I'm a total radiant heating novice, but I'm only a partial doofus, so let me see if I can describe my problem. You'll probably have to ask me questions to clarify the things I am not being specific enough on.

I have a 6-year-old house built by the former homeowner. He often chose to implement "novel" technologies and features in the house along the way, some of which have turned out nicely and some of which were maybe not so great in retrospect.

For the heat, we have a Polaris stainless, propane-driven boiler. It connects via a decent-sized red pump to an 8-way plastic output manifold mounted on a board. There is an identical 8-way return manifold. There are five thermostats in the house, and I see five pairs of return wires connected to what look like 5 relays or step-up transformers or something. It appears, then, that a few of the thermostats control multiple loops.

The problem I am having is that of my loops is getting stuck on. This actually started last winter, and we had a nice HVAC person come out and take a look at it. At the time, he explained a little bit to me about how it works... these actuators (I'm still not sure the right term... zone valve? zone valve actuator? end cap actuator? valve actuator?) are normally-closed and are slowly driven open when the thermostat demands heat. Easy enough, right?