Gravity Flow Hot Water Retrofit

Old 10-16-09, 08:11 AM
S
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Gravity Flow Hot Water Retrofit

Hi Folks,

Let me introduce myself: the names Chris, I am a Mechanical Engineer by day and an avid Do-It-Yourself'R by night. My wife and I life in a 1909 farmhouse in Portland Oregon.

After years of avoiding the inevitable it is time to replace the 100 year old boiler sitting in the basement. Why replace a systems that has worked flawlessly for 100 years? Glad you asked, our family is expanding and we would like to finish the basement into a family room and guest quarters. The lowish hanging pipes of the gravity flow system and the massive footprint of the current boiler mandate a change.

This is where you guys come in...

After exaustive research and a few hours spent doing manual J calculations(67K BTU @ 24 degrees DD) I have decoded that a Triangle Tube Solo 110 will fit our needs.

Now for the hard part... How to lay the system out. My first thought is Primamry Secoundary with 3+1 zones. The Zones would be as follows:

Upstairs: 19.3K BTU 5 stamped sheetmetal radiators.

Main Floor:18.9K BTU 4 stamped sheetmetal radiators

The plus zone an 8K BTU undefloor pex loop in the kitchen and bath

Basement: 21K BTU Combination of underfloor hydronic and wall hung radiant panels.

The control stragety would be 3 simple (plus a floor sensing) thermostats with a relay block and end switches. Let the TT computer handle the outdoor reset and such

This seemed like a good starting point until I read about the horrors of short cycling and micro zoning a Mod/Con.

It also requires 4 pumps (plus the system circulator) running the T-stat wires, a pretty impressive PS block, lots of copper, lots of valves, etc, etc... I don't mind the time and expense of this system but a gut check is in order.

Doing a complete reversal and going to the simplest system possible would look like this: