Circulator running fine, boiler only coming on for 30 seconds, then stop

Old 12-16-09, 09:03 AM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Circulator running fine, boiler only coming on for 30 seconds, then stop

Hi all, I'm no expert by any means on these things, but I moved into my current place in Sept and am having some heat issues. I have baseboard hot water heat powered by a gas boiler. Before the weather got cold I installed a Honeywell 5+2 digital programmable thermostat in place of a manual rotary Honeywell thermostat, to hopefully save some money on heat this winter. However, after noticing that it takes hours if not days to come up to the set temperature (and last weekend when it was especially cold the heat was unable to reach temperature and actually was sliding backwards even colder) I started to look for the problem. From what I can tell, when the thermostat kicks in, the circulator pump goes on and stays on, the furnace will kick on with a whoosh but only stays on for around 30 seconds before going off for several minutes. The electrical wiring for the thermostat was just two wires, and I followed the instruction manual exactly. I tried switching the two wires in their respective slots today, but that didn't change anything. I've gotten a recommendation to put the old thermostat back on, but I fail to see how it would act any differently in this simple electrical loop. Should I try just twisting the two wires together and see if that keeps the furnace going? I don't know too much about heating systems, but I've been doing a lot of reading of the past couple weeks, so any advice is appreciated. Thanks.

Old 12-16-09, 09:52 AM
NJT
Received 7 Votes on 5 Posts
I doubt that the thermostat or the wiring are the culprit.

Yes, if it's just two wires, you can simply connect them together to test your theory... but I can say with reasonable certainty that you will have the same problem.

What make/model boiler do you have?