Garage floor heating help

Old 12-17-09, 02:48 PM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Garage floor heating help

Hello all,
I am new to this sight and have a question on installing a garage floor heat system. My wife and I just bought this house and it has a nice garage that is 24' by 48' long, with the back half (24x24) being newer. When the back half was built the owner installed some sort of solar in floor heating. He had two large solar panels on the south side of the roof and somehow circulated the water/antifreeze down through the tubing in the floor. Most of the system is gone with the exception of the floor tubing which is like nothing I have seen before. It consists of a supply and return loop of 3/4" pvc that transitions up to 1 1/2" pvc with holes that were drilled all the way across (24') each (supply and return)1 1/2" pipe. In each hole a nipple was installed and the floor hosing attached to the nipple. Each hose is spaced about 8" apart in pairs. Each manifold runs along the back wall of the garage level with the floor laid in a cavity that was poured when the rest of the floor was poured. The hose appears to be 1/8" vacuum hose and is buried about 2" down in the concrete. I will attach pics if I can. Has anyone ever seen anything like this before? I would like to build a pump/hot water heater/expansion tank system and utilize what I already have if I can. Any help or recommendations would be greatly appreciated. Picture url's attached.[IMG][IMG][/IMG][/IMG][IMG][/IMG]

Last edited by smokinit; 12-17-09 at 02:51 PM. Reason: url attachment
Old 12-17-09, 05:41 PM
T
A few things to worry about.
1) your going to have a heck of a time flowing any GPM thru that 1/8" pipe.
2) there is not going to be a oxygen barrier on any of that, so you will need a propylene glycol solution with rust inhibiters in it.
3) Infloor in garages will aggrevate road salt encrusted cars, not sure if that is a concern.