PurePro Trio boiler - one zone acting strange


  #1  
Old 12-19-09, 06:06 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question PurePro Trio boiler - one zone acting strange

I have a 18 month old PurePro Trio boiler with the Trio Energy Manager Plus.
zone 1: hot water tank
zone 2: 1st floor heat
zone 3: 2nd floor heat

Zone 1 works fine.
Zone 2 works fine.

Zone 3 has trouble. When it calls for heat, the zone starts pumping water, but the boiler will never kick in as it cools down. If zone 3 is the only one calling for heat, it will pump and pump until the boiler gets cold. As soon as another zone calls for heat, the boiler will then fire up just about immediately.

Any ideas on what I could do to fix this?

Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 12-19-09, 07:35 AM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,982
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
www.trioboiler.com/pdf/manual_trio.pdf

There is a wiring diagram in that .pdf

I would look at that first.
 
  #3  
Old 12-19-09, 08:20 AM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 4 Votes on 3 Posts
That schematic in the PDF file won't help you at all... the zone valve wiring is not included there...

I'm not familiar with your boiler, and wonder what the 'Trio Energy Manager Plus' is... I'm going to go their website and look... hopefully there is info there.

[edit: yes, here it is]

Energy Manager Plus

Does your system use individual pumps for each zone?
Are you SURE that the pump for zone 3 is running?

If it has zone valves:
What make/model of zone valves do you have?

You may have a bad relay in the heat manager plus:

Are the 'relays' (the small 'cubes' in a line inside the heat manager) PLUG IN types? or are they soldered into the board?

IF they are plug in types, since you are only using 3 of the 5 available 'channels', you could try swapping the relays between channel 3 and one of the unused channels.
 

Last edited by NJT; 12-19-09 at 08:43 AM.
  #4  
Old 12-19-09, 03:46 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks NJ Trooper

NJ Trooper, thanks for the great response.

They all use the same pump. Water is pumping through the zone but the boiler never wants to kick in for zone 3. I'll try swapping relays... or perhaps moving this all over to zone 4.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: