Gas Supply Valve help

Old 01-17-10, 11:49 AM
H
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Gas Supply Valve help

Hi again, hope all is well with everyone. I have a question. My gas supply valve has been making buzzing, odd noises for the past 2 weeks and it needs to be replaced. Do I need to have a professional install it or can I install it (a total novice) because I called up one place and they wanted $580.00 installed....

This is the 2nd gas valve that will be installed in my boiler because the 1st one was submerged in water.

Well, I wrote down the part number from the sticker and it's a Honeywell VR8300C4506. I don't know if this is the proper gas valve since it's a replacement from the original. My boiler is a Peerless MI-06 and I've checked websites and I've gotten 6 different Honeywell's that fit my system. I don't even know if the one installed on it now is the correct one or not? Help?.......

P.S.
I will update my other thread next Saturday when I get my gurgling and sloshing fixed from another HVAC company. I really hope they can fix it because this is driving me nutty and costing me lots of dough!

Old 01-17-10, 03:16 PM
M
You can save quite a bit of money by DIY - I see that valve is available for about $120 on the internet.

When you say that you're a "total novice," do you have pipe wrenches and know how to apply pipe dope? Do you have a feeling for the torque to pull up pipe connections? And the pilot tubing and thermocouple connections? If you've never worked on piping systems, maybe this isn't where to start.