Two rooms not getting heat

Old 01-23-10, 04:43 AM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Two rooms not getting heat

Hello - I recently bought a house with hot water heat and I'm just starting to learn about how these systems work. I'm having a problem with a couple of the rooms not getting heat. I have a Utica MGB200 boiler, a Extrol Model 60 tank, natural gas fed. The house is 90 year old two story, about 2400 sq. feet. Main line appears to be 3 inch cast iron and lines to the radiators appears to be 3/4" copper. All radiators are copper and fin baseboard except one old fashioned cast iron radiator in the upstairs bathroom.

Boiler temp reads 160 degrees and pressure gauge at 20 PSI when running.

I noticed that the cast iron radiator in the bathroom was getting noisier (gurgling) over time so the other day, I bled it and there was a lot of air; it took at least two minutes to get water to flow. Now, that radiator is very quiet. However, since bleeding that radiator, I now have two rooms that no longer get warm. The copper feed line feels cold to the touch. Both rooms are on the same side of the house, one on the second floor and one on the first. They don't seem to be on the same water line.

While the circulator was running, I opened the bleed valves in each of the two rooms, and there was no air, and I got water flow immediately, but it was cool. Letting it flow for a few minutes resulted in slightly warm water, but certainly not hot.

One other note. Prior to bleeding out all of the air in the upstairs bathroom, the pressure gauge consistently read about 27 psi while the system was running, and after bleeding it, it now reads 20. From everything I read, 27 seems high and even 20 might be a little high. However, with the higher pressure reading, it seems I was getting heat in all rooms. Now, for whatever reason, I have these two rooms with no heat.

Any thought on what might be causing this to happen?