Triangle Tube Error b116

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-22-10, 06:09 AM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Western Pennsylvania
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Triangle Tube Error b116

Triangle Tube Solo 110 Gas boiler with Smart40 water heater. Recently had a power outage and hocked up my gasoline generator to my bypass switch for providing electricity to certain circuits of my house. Everything worked but my new boiler. I got the Standby Mode Display of: b116. Which has a boiler function of: "Power frequency deviation". I checked the voltage and it is reading 122 volts which is the same as my normal power line voltage. When I force a call for DHW I get an 9180 message. Does this error reference the cycles of the electricity? If so how would one read that value? Or adjust the generator? Boiler worked fine when my electricity was restored.
Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-22-10, 08:36 AM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
Yes, frequency does not refer to the Voltage of the source, but the HERTZ, CPS, FREQUENCY. Which in the US is nominally 60 Hertz. With portable generators this frequency varies, and would be dependent on the RPM of the generator (actually an ALTERNATOR, generators produce DC volts, alternators produce AC volts).

You would need a frequency meter to measure that...

but even if you could measure it, you would probably find that you have no way to control it...

SOME multimeters will display frequency measurements, but the ones that do are fairly expensive.
 
  #3  
Old 05-18-10, 03:08 PM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Western Pennsylvania
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Actually the frequency was the problem. I purchased a "Kill A Watt" meter for about $25. It is an electricity usage monitor and will measure Hz. I plugged it into the generator/alternator and adjusted the RPM until I go 60 cycles. I read elsewhere that you needed the generator/alternator to run at 3600 RPM to achieve 60 Hz. The meter worked for me and my unit ran perfectly after that adjustment.
 
  #4  
Old 05-18-10, 04:38 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
Yeah, the freq on a genset is dependent on the speed of the engine... usually though, it's the voltage that gets adjusted... becuz most things don't care if the freq is a bit off.

Did you measure the voltage output also? Was it low, along with slow? Wanna be careful that you don't go too much above 120... +/- 10% is probly OK, but I would be nervous about going that high plus side... 130 is about as high as I would go... nominal line around here is 125.
 
  #5  
Old 05-20-10, 05:11 AM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Western Pennsylvania
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The voltage was well within the 115-125 range. Thanks for the reply.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: