8184 g 4009 Honeywell question

Old 05-03-10, 07:58 PM
B
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
8184 g 4009 Honeywell question

i have the 8184 g 4009control for the boiler. now i am new at this, however can troubleshoot and do have some tech background. the problem is that the boiler will not fire even though it is getting 120v to the 8184 box. i checked that there was 120v going to the 8184 box, then checked to see if the orange (coming out of the 8184) to neutral- 0V. i tripped the reset and reset it back again and sometimes there is 120 V at the orange to neutral sometimes there is not. When there is 120V at orange to neutral the burner fires good and keeps runniung but when no voltage here the bruner shuts off.
THe question: is it the 8184 bad or is there other parameters that would trigger the 120V between orange to neutral even thought there is 120V from the thermostat controller box to the 8184.
there is a FF and TT on the 8184 but I do not know what they are for and how to troubleshoot them. I tried to ohm out FF and saw it dancing around 1500 to 1700.

Thanks for any troubleshooting tips.

Old 05-04-10, 11:25 AM
Received 66 Upvotes on 55 Posts
The T-T is for either a thermostat connection or a jumper dependent on the application. If you disconnect one of the wires you should read between 20 and volts a/c.
The ohms on the F-F for the cad cell is a good reading.
What is the heat demand coming from? Thermostat, multi-zone relay, zone valves?
If the control is energizing and no voltage out of the orange wire to neutral that it is a bad control. If you are not getting a completed circuit through the t-t terminals then it is a heat demand issue.

Old 05-04-10, 12:19 PM
B