Cost of a new boiler?

Old 05-20-10, 08:27 PM
Cost of a new boiler?

Hey everyone. I think that we're going to have to replace the boiler in the house that we just bought sooner than we thought. The house is roughly 1400 sq feet on 2 zones. We currently have a gas boiler and no hat water tank.

I got one estimate from a plumber that was 'somewhere in the neighborhood of $5,500'. Does that sound right to you guys? Seems high to me, but I'm new to all of this....

Sponsored Links
Old 05-21-10, 03:05 PM
NJT
Doesn't sound too bad, but don't go with "somewhere in the neighborhood", cuz if you do, it leaves you open to all kinds of tacked on charges. Make sure that the proposal/contract spells out EXACTLY what you are getting for the money.

Get a firm price. Get signatures on the work orders.

Get as many proposals as you can. Check references, all that stuff...

If you've got no hot water storarge, and the existing boiler is using the coil in the boiler for domestic hot water, take this opportunity to install a real water heater. Do NOT replace the boiler with the same 'thankless coil' setup. Those coils are the WORST way of making domestic hot water. Probably the best way would be an indirect water heater... this will raise the price up by about a grand, but it is worth it IMHO, especially if you just bought the place and will live in it for 5 years or more.

If I was you, I would probably think about $7500 as being the price point for a boiler and indirect, installed.

Old 05-21-10, 03:10 PM
NJT
OH YEAH, almost forgot...

Do NOT replace the boiler with one of the same size... unless a PROPER HEAT LOSS calculation confirms that it is the correct size. 99% of the installed systems are way OVERSIZED.

1400 sq ft you will probably end up with a heat loss of somewhere around 50-70 K BTU.