Combustion Deposits (Boiler Fan post moved)

Old 12-07-10, 12:41 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Combustion Deposits (Boiler Fan post moved)

Good day all!

Newbie here with a question or two. I have a four section Utica Starfire III boiler about 9 years young with a Beckett AFG burner 1.00 80B nozzle, 2 3/4static plate, F6 head, pump set at 140psi, and Honeywell controls.

My first question is can or should the white deposits be cleaned from the combustion chamber sides and bottom? It has gotten thicker each year and I would love to make it new looking again to get as much heat transfer as possible, but don't want to damage section rope etc. It doesn't just brush off like the heat exchanger deposits.

My next question is should this boiler have a barametric damper on the flue? It has never had one since installed. Probably because the chimney is poorly designed and had a history of downdrafting with proper conditions.

My next question is about downrating to a .85 nozzle to try to cut oil usage. Would the F6 head and 2 3/4 static plate still work? The Utica book's table shows a F3 head and 3 1/4 static plate yet the burner label says .85 with the current head and plate in its firing range. Would it be worthwhile since it would only change the GPH from 1.18 to 1.00 with 140psi pump correct?

Thank you in advance for your time and expertise!

B.F.

Sponsored Links
Old 12-07-10, 04:12 PM
NJT
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
BF, I moved your post into a new thread... it didn't seem to 'fit' at the end of the thread you tacked it onto...

Old 12-07-10, 07:00 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
Deposits/Downfiring

The deposits should be removed. It will take a stiff wire brush & considerable elbow grease or a powered brush. Be careful to stay away from the section joints.

Now on to the downfiring: