Boiler ran out of oil, is reset enough?

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-11-10, 11:34 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Boiler ran out of oil, is reset enough?

Hi everyone, I have a Burnham V8 boiler that ran out of oil. After refilling the tank, is it enough to press the reset button or do I have to go through additional operations? Thank you.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-11-10, 12:00 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
You may also need to prime the pump... try reset first.
 
  #3  
Old 12-11-10, 12:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
how do i prime the pump??

Thank you NJTrooper! Tried resetting , it started to fill water for a few sec, then red and orange lights came on, saying that I need to call service. I imagine it is what you are saying that the pump needs to be primed. How do I do that?? Thanks a million!
 
  #4  
Old 12-11-10, 12:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
boiler is "latched up"

Hey, NJTrooper, it says on the boiler that red and yellow lights means it is "latched up". How do I unlatch it?
 
  #5  
Old 12-11-10, 01:15 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,936
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Trooper is offline for a while, maybe I can help. Before we get into how to unlatch, I need to know if you have one or two lines from the tank to the burner. Knowing that will tell me if you have to bleed the pump or not. I presume the control is a Carlin. The model number would help.
 
  #6  
Old 12-11-10, 02:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Carlin 60200-02

Hi Grady,
Thanks for the reply. Yes it is a Carlin 60200-02. There is only one line from tank to pump. In the general "Do it yourself" site instructions it says something about a bleeding gauge. I don't see anything of that sort on the oil feeding line, which goes straight to the pump. There is a rubber hose with an open end that comes out of the burner, not out of the pump itself. Please help!
Thanks again.
 
  #7  
Old 12-11-10, 02:25 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,936
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Presuming the pump to be a Suntec, there should be a bleeder port (looks like a grease fitting) angled down & located at aprox. the 5:00 position as viewed from the end of the pump. This fitting will take a 3/8" wrench. Use a hose or even a drinking straw to fit over the end & direct the flow into a container (at least a pint). Open the bleeder about 1/4-1/3 turn & reset the contol by pressing & holding the red button until the lights start to blink. Release the button & the motor should start in a few seconds if not right away. If the motor stops before you get a steady stream of oil with no foam, close the bleeder quickly unless oil would naturally flow from the tank to the burner. If the motor stops, press & release the reset to restart. Once you get a steady stream of oil quickly close the bleeder & the burner should fire. Let us know how it goes.
 
  #8  
Old 12-11-10, 03:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
no oil flow

The pump is a Beckett, but I found the oil port as you described it. I unscrewed 1/3 , a few oil drops came out, but it stopped and nothing happens. Does the burner need to be turned on? I turned it on and again nothing happened, the pump does not work. I guess it needs to be "unlatched". How do I do that?
 
  #9  
Old 12-11-10, 03:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
pump does not start

I tried what you said. I pressed the reset button until the lights blinked and there was some clicking noise inside the burner, but then they only blinked once each ,then they went back to continuous and the pump did not start Is there anything else? Should I wait longer for the air to come out? Or maybe use a small rubber pump I have to suck the air faster out of the system?
 
  #10  
Old 12-11-10, 03:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It works! Yiepiieee!

Thanks a million guys! God bless! I guess I was afraid to keep that reset button pressed for too long. Now I tried it again and kept it pressed throughout the blinking until the lights went out and only the yellow light came on, then the pump started and now I have hot water! These benefits of civilization that we take for granted - it is hard to imagine how people lived without!
 
  #11  
Old 12-11-10, 04:00 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 13,936
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Good deal. Glad it worked out for you. After my previous post I thought "maybe you have to hold the button in until the lights go out". I don't run into many Carlin controls & am a bit rusty. Of the couple of thousand customers' heaters I service, I only know of 2 with Carlin controls.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: