How to wire a boiler

Old 12-14-10, 11:50 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How to wire a boiler

Im a electrician helper. My cousin is a plumber so he does alot of boilers. I was helping him intstall one and he had to hire a electrician to wire it becuase im not familiar with ow voltage at all.

Can some 1 please explain to me the circuit inside the boiler. Lets say its a 120 v gas fired boiler that controls a few base board radiators. The things that needed to be wired were, thermostat,aqua stat,low water cut off, and a gas vent damper.

If some 1 can take some time to explain how to wire these things id reallly appriciate it. thanks

Sponsored Links
Old 12-14-10, 12:02 PM
I don't think we could cover all the bases over the internet. If you download the installation manual for the boiler model in question, it should give you a control schematic, etc.

Old 12-14-10, 02:08 PM
I just want a decent explanation, ex.. The thermostat kicks on when below a certian temp...signals to the relay... the relay is connected to this this n this...(low water cut off, aqua stat, damper vent.. something where i have a good understanding from the stat kick on dwn to the boiler firing back to the stat shuting off. I cant find any decent explanations in google.

Old 12-14-10, 03:43 PM
NJT
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
I'll give it a try.

First, let's start with the boiler. The most BASIC setup will will be ONE ZONE, ONE THERMOSTAT, ONE PUMP. And of course the gas or oil combustion device.

The AQUASTAT is what controls this stuff.

In the basic aquastat, there is a 24VAC transformer, a DOUBLE POLE relay, and a water temperature bulb in the boiler that controls the HIGH LIMIT for the water temp.

The thermostat connects to (usually) the T T terminals. The thermostat MAKES contact when the room temp falls below setpoint.

When the thermostat closes, it energizes the RELAY in the aquastat.