Wood/Oil HS TARM OT 35 Boiler

Old 12-29-10, 03:33 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wood/Oil HS TARM OT 35 Boiler

HI Guys, A Newbie here to a keyboard and your site. I ran across the article on HS TARM web site asking if any one still uses this boiler or anything close? I put this system in, in 78 when I built the house. I realize the stack temp has to be 250 deg. or so to eliminate the creosote/ chimney fire problem. I'm using a masonry 2 story chimney. I've tried all the powders chimney logs, potato peels,and the chimney was cleaned every month, nothing works, The fire is small enough in the boiler that you can't get away from the creosote problem. Any Ideas? Would a metal chimney be the answer? Burning oil so far this year 3.00 Gal cant do this much longer. Burned 15 f cord last yr. But yet another chimney fire. wife says no more wood. Can any one help? Thank you for your time. Dave

Sponsored Links
Old 12-29-10, 04:14 PM
NJT
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
I'm thinking perhaps a chimney LINER ? Sounds like the boiler is way oversized for the load, requiring the smaller fires?

I found this informative page that might provide some info for you:

Sweep's Library - Why do I need a stainless steel chimney liner?

Last edited by NJT; 12-29-10 at 04:49 PM.
Old 12-29-10, 04:27 PM
I think a metal liner might be good on general principles - but I'd expect creosote build-up and possible future chimney fires to continue even with a new, metal liner. The metal liner will help protect the existing chimney/liner.

Are you using an unlined masonry chimney? Hopefully, it has a liner of some sort, possibly tile?

Do you get your chimney periodically cleaned and inspected? If not, that would be the first step, I think. If you burn 34 cords of wood per year, plus oil, I think annually would be prudent.

Old 12-29-10, 04:51 PM
NJT
the chimney was cleaned every month,
psssst.... hey Mike! he said this... but you didn't hear it from me!

Old 12-29-10, 05:05 PM
OK, thanks. Me bad.