Help replacing aquastat

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-05-11, 09:30 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Help replacing aquastat

Hello, I think I have a bad Honeywell Aquastat relay. Is this something that I can replace myself or do I need a professional to do this? If I can do it myself is there a step by step I can get to do it? Any help would be appreciated
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-05-11, 10:18 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: U.S. Midwest
Posts: 1,340
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Start by going to the Honeywell website and get the instructions for whatever model you have.

Default - Honeywell Environmental And Combustion Controls
 

Last edited by NJT; 01-05-11 at 03:47 PM.
  #3  
Old 01-05-11, 03:48 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
Before you go replacing an expensive control, why don't you tell us what is wrong with your system? Maybe it's not the control at all...
 
  #4  
Old 01-07-11, 08:42 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 91
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It is not too difficult, but be sure to determine if you can buy one locally and if so, be sure to find out if the well is available locally. When I removed my Aquastat relay the sensor was so tight in the well that it wouldn't come out and broke off in the well. I had to remove the well which required removing the pressure off the system by starting to drain the boiler. With the old well partially removed and the new well ready to insert, I was able to switch wells with minimal water loss. Also I would recommend reviewing how the Aquastat is attached by looking at other threads. The Honeywell literature was somewhat confusing to me, although I did not have the new Aquastat in hand to look at.
 
  #5  
Old 01-07-11, 10:33 AM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
the sensor was so tight in the well that it wouldn't come out and broke off in the well.
Most likely due to someone spooging the well full of that wretched heat transfer compound that Honeywell says should be used. If you must use any of that nasty stuff, just a little jizz on the end of the bulb is all you need. That and make sure that the bulb is fully inserted into the well.
 
  #6  
Old 01-07-11, 04:08 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 91
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I didn't use any on the replacement since it also was snug. It worked fine.
 
  #7  
Old 01-07-11, 05:44 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
Yeah, I don't see a need for the stuff if the fit is proper. Only if the bulb were loose in the well would I consider it. How many aquastats were installed before Honeywell started including that stuff? Millions! How many worked fine? Millions!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: