steam bolier/indirect hot water heater combos

Old 02-23-11, 07:29 AM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
steam bolier/indirect hot water heater combos

Iíve decided to replace my 40+ year old oil steam boiler with a new gas powered steam one with an indirect hot water tank. I would appreciate any input on brands and models people have had good luck with (must have AFUE of at least 82% for rebate). Additionally, any advice on a size for the indirect tank? Itís a small 2 family house; couldnít imagine more than 4 adults living here.
My plumber likes Burnham boilers. Thinking of the independence model but not sure if the smaller size boiler I need provides the minimum MBtu/ hr of Burnhamís indirect h.w. tank.
Also, can any/all steam boilers run at a lower temperature in the summer when only hot water is needed? Thanks in advance for any response.

Sponsored Links
Old 02-23-11, 08:19 AM
Super Moderator
Received 7 Votes on 6 Posts
I am no expert here in this department but would ask myself some things before I proceed.

1. Get a heat loss calculation done so it can be properly sized. I guess it goes by the radiators you already have there.
2. I guess a two family I would be thinking about two small boilers if the homes are seperate. But probably would be major repipe.
3. With the above I would be thinking of repiping for two zone and making it hot water. Remove the rads or make them HW. Adding returns from rads ect... Or remove and replace with baseboard.

Altthough I had steam heat rads as a kid and remember eating breakfast by a nice toasty rad. Ahh.... memorys...

Just my thoughts. The BTU grinders will be chiming in soon.

Mike NJ

Old 02-23-11, 08:21 AM
Steam boilers are sized to the radiation. I can't imagine that your radiators have a low BTU output. You would need to figure out your sq. ft. of EDR for all your radiators. Then multiply that by 240 BTU's. Check out the tech menu on Heat Loss calculation and Radiator Sizing Guide for measuring your sq ft of EDR.