Vacant Rural Home ... turnoff water or leave on when Water boiler heated?

Old 03-10-11, 06:08 PM
K
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Vacant Rural Home ... turnoff water or leave on when Water boiler heated?

We recently purchased a rural vacation home that remains vacant most of the winter. The home has propane boiler/water heat. We only occupy it a few weekends over the winter months, but keep it heated. The home is in NE Minnesota which gets very cold. We have a drilled well for water.

I am new to water-boiler heat. I am educating myself and just read about "water makeup" for the heating system. What is the risk to the heating system of turning off the home's water pump? In other homes (not boiler water heated), the usual thing to do when leaving for extended periods is to turn off the well's water pump to prevent continual water flow in the event that an interior water pipe freezes and breaks.

It seems like a Catch 22, which is higher risk ... pipe freeze or boiler running too low on water? We do have a temperature alarm that will call us if the interior temp drops to 45 degrees.

Looking for a seasoned expert opinion on which side of the fence to take.
Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
Old 03-10-11, 08:15 PM
Super Moderator
Received 60 Votes on 52 Posts
I am not a fan of anti-freeze for the boiler, but if it were my home I would put anti-freeze in the boiler, and winterize the potable water pipes during the winter.

This way during the winter leave the heat off. The pipes for the boiler will not freeze.

Then winterize the potable water by blowing out the lines with a compressor, draining water heater, and adding antifreeze to the toilets and traps.

Then when you visit you can use the heat but dont use the water unless your going to winterize again, or the temps are above freezing.

It seems like a Catch 22, which is higher risk ... pipe freeze or boiler running too low on water?