Installing a Honeywell aquastat relay L8148A unto a single zone Taco sr501 relay

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-02-11, 01:43 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Installing a Honeywell aquastat relay L8148A unto a single zone Taco sr501 relay

Had to swap out both my relays and lost the pictures I took of how the relays were wired to my pessotti boiler and the hot water system circulator. Do I need to have the jump wire between terminals 5 and 3 or leave the factory installed jump wire (clip) between H and 3. I'm kind of confused because my old Stabilis relay ( the one I just replaced with the sr501 ) had both jump wires attached. Also I cant remember where the red wire that connects to the 6 no terminal on the sr501 attaches to the L1848A relay. The way I now have this system hooked up, is not activating the boiler when the thermostat on the hot water system is turned up. However I can hear the water circulator working. Any thoughts would be great, Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-02-11, 03:04 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
Help us to understand what the problem is a little better...

First, what is the HISTORY behind this? WHY did you have to "swap out both my relays" ?

Was something broken?

Perhaps you didn't have to swap out the relays, and the problem was something else all along?

Next, when you say ' both relays ' ... exactly what did you swap out? What did you replace with what?

When you talk about jumpers and 'red wires' and such, you must realize that this means essentially nothing, because all systems are more or less 'custom built' and wired. What this means is that we can't tell you if you need the jumper or where the red wire goes without a whole lot more information.

Feel free to elaborate and give us the full story...
 
  #3  
Old 09-04-11, 07:44 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I hooked up the furnace to the 220 side of the generator after the recent hurricane and fried the Honeywell L8148 aquastat relay and the old american stabilis mr 1000 relay for my hot water tank. I was able to get the honeywell relay but since american stabilis is no longer in business, I replaced it with the taco sr501. I don't see any sign of any other damage (no burn smell) to any other components. I am not sure where the wire that runs from the terminal (6no) on the sr501 hooks up to the L8148 aquastat. When I turn the temperature setting up on my water tank, both the green and red light come on the sr501 but the boiler doesn't kick on. The furnace is working and cuts on when you turn up the heat on the thermostat. So it would appear that I have the aquastat relay installed properly. Is it possible that the sr501 isn't compatible with the mr 1000 ? We are able to take hot showers if the heat is on so I'm guessing the circulator for the h2o tank is functioning. Any help would be appreciated.
 
  #4  
Old 09-04-11, 07:51 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
I think you need to take a bunch of pics... it's not easy to determine wiring from pics though, but we'll try... make sure the pics are in focus, well lighted and large enough to see details...

Set up a free account at Image hosting, free photo sharing & video sharing at Photobucket and upload the pics there, come back here and post a link to your PUBLIC album.

I am not sure where the wire that runs from the terminal (6no) on the sr501 hooks up to the L8148 aquastat.
What gauge is that red wire? is that wire paired with another white wire?
 
  #5  
Old 09-04-11, 07:54 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
What is on terminal 5 on the 501, and where does that wire go?

DO NOT jumper 5 to 3 !

Tell me if this is correct:

The wires from the water heater are going to the R and W on the 501.

The jumper is in place from H to 3.

There is a wire from 4 going to the pump for the water heater.

Yes?
 

Last edited by NJT; 09-04-11 at 08:09 PM.
  #6  
Old 09-04-11, 08:10 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
You still have the old relay, correct? Take a picture of that and take a look inside the cover of it and see if there is a label, take a pic if there is, and hopefully there will be a schematic of it as well.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: