Low Heat Condition

Old 01-06-12, 12:27 PM
F
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Low Heat Condition

Hi,

I'm a newbie but I have a basic knowledge of HVAC and construction. I'm having a low heat condition in my apartment. Basically, the boiler is firing, the baseboard is getting hot, But not enough to heat the place on a cold day.

The basics:

Hydronic system with baseboard
Pennco furnace
Pressure is around 25 psi
The pump kicks in when the thermostat calls for heat
Temp is usually around 170, which is what the lower aqua stat is set to
I live on the top floor (4th) and the unit is in the basement
Only 1 zone

The problem:

Basically, From what I'm seeing, the thermostat calls for heat and it turns on the circulator pump, it doesn't automatically fire the boiler. The boiler only fires to maintain the low aqua stat setting. If I set the lower aqua stat to its lowest setting, it will pump around cold water, highest, it will pump around 220 degree water. This is wrong, correct?

So I'm thinking the switching relay? it's an Argo type(b218) that I can't find an exact replacment. I'm wiling to sit down with a wiring diagram and figure out how to wire in a new one, but I'm just not sure that's the route I should be taking.

Any ideas? I can't post any pics necessary, just didn't think this warranted it.
Thanks in advance

Old 01-06-12, 01:02 PM
P
What model is the aquastat on the boiler.?
It would seem that this is where the problem is, not the switching relay.

Peter

Old 01-06-12, 01:25 PM
F
The high aqua stat is a Honeywell L4006e with manual reset, The low, I haven't been able to determine the model, not written anywhere on it.

But I can get the furnace to kick on and off using the lower aqua stat, And the furnace to kick off using the high aqua stat. I figured this showed they are both working.

Old 01-06-12, 01:31 PM
S
Group Moderator
Received 1,263 Upvotes on 1,204 Posts