Taco Cartridge Circulator Stuck on (i think)

Old 01-19-12, 09:34 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Taco Cartridge Circulator Stuck on (i think)

I've been reading/searching these threads and others, and i think with diligence i have narrowed the problem to the Taco 007-F5.

Oil combo Boiler/Furnace. No zone valves. 2 zones. 2 circulators.

The upstairs zone is constantly heated even with thermostat removed. and Red/White wires removed from the relay(?) box to eliminate a possible chewed/crossed wire between thermostat and furnace.

From what i have read, if the circulator is stuck on, the furnace will kick on to keep that water heated.

QUESTION(s):
Do i replace the cartridge circulator 007-F5? Do i have to cut power? Cut water supply on one or both sides of the pump?
Can i temporarily fix this while waiting for the new one?

I have turned down the temp manually in the Honeywell relay box(?) with 2 little HI/LO dials to preserve oil. Will this lower my hot water temp?

I am a total noob to this stuff. 1st house. The only reason i even know any of these terms is thanks to great posts and replies in here. Special thanks to NJ Trooper for always popping up with relevant info on my queries.

Sponsored Links
Old 01-19-12, 09:56 AM
Received 8 Votes on 8 Posts
The pump will be controlled by a 24/120-V relay. The pump itself is not the problem, so don't replace it.

If you have a multimeter, and know how to use it safely, you can troubleshoot to find out why the relay isn't interrupting the power to the pump. If this is outside your skill level, you'll need to call somebody for help.

Yes, turning down the aquastat settings will reduce the the temp of the water. That may, in turn, cause the flue gas temp to run cooler, and possibly cause damaging condensation in the flue. Unless you understand what you are doing, I would leave such settings alone.

Old 01-19-12, 10:11 AM
NJT
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
Is the circulator actually running?