Pressure Loss In Furnace

Old 01-28-12, 06:00 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pressure Loss In Furnace

Hey guys, I need some help with my furnace. First off, I've read a lot on these forums and I know a little about boilers so I'm off to a good start and have gotten far. Plus I'm a Volvo technician so mechanical ability is not something you will be fighting lol. Ok, so first things first I have an oil-fired Slant/Fin Liberty L30PT with a Fill-Trol expansion tank system. My home is single zone heated. My initial problem was no heat in the top floor and poor hot water pressure in the upstairs shower. I checked the pressure in the furnace and there was hnone. I cheked the pressure in the expansion tank and there also was none. I filled the expansion tank to 15 psi, the pressure gauge on the boiloer was reading the same as my tire gauge so I believe it to be accurate. This fixed the heating problem and the hot water pressure improved. As of today heat and hot water are still working fine. I checked the pressure in the furnace and it was down to 10 psi. My new issue is nailing down the pressure loss. I checked the furnace area for signs of water leakage. On both blow off valves there was water trickling down from the caps. I know that the caps are supposed to be loose to alolow for pressure relief. My question is if I can tighten these caps down until I change the valves or is this condition normal when repressureizing the system. Also, should I repressureize the expansion tank? All help would be appreciated.

Nick

Sponsored Links
Old 01-28-12, 06:23 PM
I think you may be confusing air vents for pressure relief. Pressure relief valves do not have screw caps.

You should only be checking and adding pressure to your expansion tank when the boiler pressure is at 0. There is a possibility that you tank is shot. Did any water come out of the valve when you checked the pressure on the tank?

Old 01-28-12, 06:29 PM