Boiler servicing/cleaning (way over due apparently)

Old 02-14-12, 05:52 AM
Received 16 Votes on 15 Posts
Boiler servicing/cleaning (way over due apparently)

This is a bit of a continuation of the other thread I started (http://www.doityourself.com/forum/bo...ggestions.html) but is specific to what I should be looking for while getting this boiler some well needed TLC.

Last night I arrived home to find the boiler was out. It had run out of oil (thankfully it was a nice mild day and keeping ~ -2'C outside). Home delivery was closed for the night (I'm on a schedule with them, but this would only be their second visit for me), so I had to run to the local petrol station and pick up some died fuel. Anyway, had the local service guy come over for a beer and show me how to prime the pump (I am totally new to oil heat).
While he was over, we got talking about the boiler (I was digging for history of it from him as he was the guy to service it). It was installed in 97, and has not seen any real maintenance in about 3 years. Apparently he has a love/hate relationship with this particular boiler (didn't get too much info on that).

Anyway, I am going to get him come in and do a full clean and maintenance on the boiler.
What he said he does is replace the fuel filter, fuel nossel, and clean and flush all the pipe work.
Is there anything else I should be looking at replacing, servicing or inspecting?

I have noticed, no matter what the tempurature is outside, that when the boiler is running, the smoke from the chimny is reasonably black.

Sponsored Links
Old 02-14-12, 07:08 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have noticed, no matter what the tempurature is outside, that when the boiler is running, the smoke from the chimny is reasonably black
Not Good!
I hope he is also going to clean the heck out of the inside of the boiler flue passages.
Sounds like the boiler is fairly well sooted up.
Wonder if the love hate thing, is because that boiler is hard to tune up.