Gas Boiler Tripping Out Intermittently

Old 02-27-12, 05:51 AM
D
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Gas Boiler Tripping Out Intermittently

Hello everyone,

Forum newbie here. I'm hoping you guys can help me. I have an older (1960's or 1970s) American Standard Boiler in my home. It is part of a hot water/radiator heating system. The boiler's exact age is unknown, however it did have a brand new circulator pump installed when we bought the house (about 5 years ago). The boiler is randomly tripping out. Please allow me to share some background...

-Last week I awoke in the middle of the night and noticed that the house was cold. The thermostat was firing (had the flame icon) but the boiler was not running. I checked and found that the pilot light was indeed lit. As I'm not terribly handy, I called a trusted heating/cooling serviceman. The serviceman determined that the boiler had simply tripped the fuse and so the gas valve was not opening. He did indicate that it was odd, but the circuit for the boiler was also wired into an electrical outlet upstairs, so maybe we overloaded the circuit? Currently we only have two table lamps installed on the upstairs outlet. Once the circuit breaker was reset, the boiler fired up immediately. The technician waited for the circulator pump to turn on, and when it did, it did not cause the system to trip out again. The tech oiled the circulator pump and did not find any other problems.