Buying new burner for boiler and efficiency question

Old 03-21-12, 02:42 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb Buying new burner for boiler and efficiency question

I'm a property manager for an 18 unit apartment building where we are considering buying a new burner. The building uses steam heat and last heating season our old #4 oil burner which was converted to burn #2 oil broke down and we are worried it may happen again.

My question is :

1) If we buy a new burner for the building, how do I figure out what which type of burner would be most efficient to heat the building? (I want to make sure I'm not burning too much fuel to heat the building)

2) Is there anything I can do to increase the heating efficiency of the building? (ex. Make sure that all the radiators are pitched 1/4 of an inch)

I'd be grateful for any advice!

Sponsored Links
Old 03-21-12, 03:58 PM
Received 33 Votes on 25 Posts
So what kind of burner is the "old #4 oil burner", a rotary cup? What size in gallons per hour? What is the make, model and size of the boiler? Is it a "one-pipe" or "two-pipe" system? What pressure does it normally run and how are the individual apartments controlled?

The burner is only ONE PART of the entire heating system. You could put the newest, most efficient BURNER in the world on your SYSTEM and not realize much, if any savings. You have to look at BOTH the heating system AND the building to find ways to operate more efficiently. Pitching of the steam radiators has NOTHING to do with efficiency although it MAY have a great deal to do with the EFFICACY of the heating system, that is, how well it heats.

Post back with several pictures of the existing steam plant AND construction details of the building. More pictures are always better than too few. Make sure the pictures are in focus and are well lit. Nothing more useless than a dark, out-of-focus picture. Get them from all angles and both close ups and wide angle so we can see how things fit together.