New Boiler install with Triangle PS110 - secondary pump required?

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-08-12, 07:17 PM
DPDISXR4Ti's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 64
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
New Boiler install with Triangle PS110 - secondary pump required?

New construction and I'm having a PS110 installed. 3 zones plus a 30-gallon SuperStor indirect for DHW (so essentially a 4-zone).

Do I need a secondary pump or will the one within the unit suffice? If needed, where's the best place to plumb it in. I'm having a plumber install it, but just want to verify proper installation.

Thanks...
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-10-12, 02:31 PM
rbeck's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,465
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
First off depending how it is piped the secondary may be the boiler pump. To answer your question the boiler requires a pump as does the system. If you are using zne valves you will need a minimum of two pumps or three as I do not like to use zone valves on the indirect water heater. If zoning with pumps you will need a pump for each zone including the Indirect water heater and one for the boiler.
See link
http://www.comfort-calc.net/primary-..._tutorial.html
 
  #3  
Old 06-10-12, 09:06 PM
DPDISXR4Ti's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 64
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here's a pic of things as currently plumbed...


There is a pump inside the boiler - it's on the right side.
 
  #4  
Old 06-11-12, 06:43 PM
DPDISXR4Ti's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 64
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I just let them go ahead and plumb the rest in today, knowing that some of it will likely need to be re-done. Indeed I spoke to Triangle this morning, and they strongly suggested that the pump within the boiler was not adequate to drive 4 zones. Here's how it all looks right now. Comments encouraged....

 
  #5  
Old 06-12-12, 06:56 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 40
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you want to put in more pumps, you need to redo some of the plumbing to form a primary/secondary loop, closely spaced Tee, etc.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: