Newbie here looking for suggestions on system design of the baseboards.

Old 07-11-12, 09:22 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Newbie here looking for suggestions on system design of the baseboards.

Hello all,

In a residential house with a boiler outputting 180ºF is it better to connect baseboard in series or parallel? Most installations that I have seen are connected in series. To me this seems simpler to install but not as efficient as a parallel install.

Going back to my Thermodynamics class (which I squeaked by) more heat can be transferred with a greater temperature differential. Also more heat can be transferred with a slower flow rate. That is where I am swayed by a parallel baseboard install. The inlet temperature would be the hghest for all the baseboards and flow would be roughly divided evenly for all the baseboards.

Open for any input.

Old 07-12-12, 05:03 PM
NJT
Received 8 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Hi 2mile, welcome to the forums...

I'm not really sure how to go about explaining this... as you've mentioned 'efficiency' and technically that's not really a correct term. ' EFFICACY ' might work for the semantics, but it really doesn't mean anything as far as saving money.

I'm simply going to say that a SERIES installation is the way to go simply for the reason that the cost of doing otherwise is ridiculous... in COPPER anyway... if you are going to use O2 barrier PEX, I guess it could be cost effective, but there's really no point.

If you are designing a NEW INSTALL, has a complete ROOM BY ROOM heat analysis been done?

Old 07-12-12, 06:52 PM
Received 66 Upvotes on 55 Posts
Take troopers advice.
To clarify flow and heat.
Also more heat can be transferred with a slower flow rate
Slower water will drop the temperature in the water more than a higher flow rate but more heat (btu's) are transferred on higher flow rate.