adding a zone?

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-15-12, 12:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New Enland
Posts: 50
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
adding a zone?

Had this setup:
oil pictures by wfg97079 - Photobucket
In this photo, it was setup for 2 zones, each with its own circulator. One which was connected directly to the R8182H aquastst and one which is connected to a honewell relay system which inturn connects to "zc and zr I believe" on the aquastat. I had a plumber tell me adding a zone was no problem, he plumed everything in, added a new circulator, and provided me a new relay. My question is, can the R8182H have 3 zones? I understand that the thermostat would connect to the relay, and the relay would get power as well, and that it would then provided sitched (relayed) power to the new circulator. My question is, what would tell the aquastat to fire up the burner?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-16-12, 09:09 AM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
Depending on the relay, there are a second set of contacts that can be used to fire the boiler.

I don't see the added relay or circ in any of the pics?

The answer to your question is most likely yes... with the proper controls (relay and wiring)
 
  #3  
Old 09-16-12, 09:18 AM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
There's a mistake in this PDF file, the captions are reversed...

The one for zone valves is called for circs and vice versa, I believe you need to look at Figure 10.

https://customer.honeywell.com/resou...0s/69-0599.pdf

Here's another, it looks like it's been corrected:

https://customer.honeywell.com/resou...0s/68-0105.pdf
 
  #4  
Old 09-17-12, 10:49 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New Enland
Posts: 50
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
more photos

OK
Added some photos of the aquastat and the existing relay in use by the second zone. The new relay I have for using with the third zone is a Taco sr501 http://www.taco-hvac.com/uploads/Fil...ry/101-053.pdf
The new relay and new circulator are currently not connected to anything. I am wondering where the relay can connect to the aquastat to fire up the burner.
 
  #5  
Old 09-17-12, 11:42 AM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
You should be fine with the 501...

I'm sorry that I don't have a ton of time to dig into this at the moment, I'm nearing the end of my 'big project'...

What's your time frame? Immediate? Can you wait a day or three for more info?

Take a look at the PDF file I posted and see if you can determine if the second zone is connected as shown in the diagram. Trace out the wires, etc... we need to know that before suggesting how to connect the third zone.
 
  #6  
Old 09-17-12, 11:52 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New Enland
Posts: 50
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks so much for the help. Hoping to dig back into this by next weekend.
Zone 2 is a R845a relay which has the red wire (labeled 3 on the relay side) connected to ZR on the aquastat and orange wire (labeled as 1 on the relay side) connected to ZC on the aquastat side.
That answer what your asking?
 
  #7  
Old 09-17-12, 06:29 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
Yes, it does help. I'll try to hook ya up with something before the weekend.

In the 845, which terminal goes to the HOT wire on the circulator?

Which two terminals in the 845 are jumpered together?
 

Last edited by NJT; 09-17-12 at 07:10 PM.
  #8  
Old 09-17-12, 06:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New Enland
Posts: 50
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks!

Thanks again for all of your help.
 
  #9  
Old 09-17-12, 07:11 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
I just edited my last post and added a couple questions... need to know those answers.
 
  #10  
Old 09-20-12, 04:52 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
I put question marks in for the unknown terminals on the 845, but shouldn't matter, you won't be changing that wiring anyway...

Look this over and compare to what you have already. ONLY when you are 100% certain that what is existing matches that part of this drawing should you continue and wire the new relay!

Name:  SR502 as zone relay.jpg
Views: 9194
Size:  35.8 KB
 
  #11  
Old 09-23-12, 09:23 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
Well? how did you make out ?
 
  #12  
Old 10-01-12, 09:12 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New Enland
Posts: 50
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Im sorry, I havent gotten to this, family issue. Thanks so much for the follow up, and I will get back to you when I do.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: