Hot Water Boiler High/Low temp settings

Old 09-26-12, 07:51 AM
Received 16 Votes on 15 Posts
Hot Water Boiler High/Low temp settings

I thought I would start a quick thread about boiler temperature adjustments.
As noted in a previous thread, I bought my house with a poorly maintained, hot water boiler.
With a bit of pipe work repairs, programmable t-stats installed, and new bleed screws installed through most of the house, I fired it up last night.

Previously, the boiler had been set to a high temp of 220'F (way too hot).
I had turned the high temp down to the 180'F markings last winter with no luck getting the temp any lower then ~210'F.

Last night after firing up the boiler, checking for leaks, etc, I started playing with the high and low temp settings trying to get it down. I managed to get the high temp down to about 190'F but am not sure how low I should set the low start up temp to.

Because the temp markings on the control pots are not accurate at all, I'm adjusting, wait, adjusting wait.
If I get the high temp to 170-180'F, how low should I set the low start up temp?
I'm hoping I can get the high temp closer to the 170'F end.

Sponsored Links
Old 09-26-12, 04:23 PM
NJT
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
Mike, tell us again what controls are installed on the boiler... make and model of boiler, etc...

Some of us are old and forget things easy!

Old 09-26-12, 05:13 PM
NJ Troupler;
The Controller is a Honeywell Triple Aquastat Type L8124L https://customer.honeywell.com/resou...0s/95-6571.pdf
Was going to get a photo of the internals, but my phone is dead.

The oil burner unit is a Riello 40 Series
Boiler is a Kerr Comet 145 Oil Fired hot water boiler.

I currently have the High and Low temp settings in the aquastat set at ~150'F on each. This kicks the boiler out at about 180'F. Haven't been able to catch when it comes on though. Run time is ~5 minutes when it does turn on to bring it up to temp.