Boiler Making Gurgling Noises

Old 10-18-12, 02:01 PM
Boiler Making Gurgling Noises

1983 Peerless Series 85 Gas Fired Boiler
Model: 85-140-WPC-H

This boiler serves three zones of baseboard radiation in my house with Honeywell zone valves and a single Taco circulating pump. One zone is upstairs and the other two are on the main floor. The boiler sits in the garage at the same elevation as the main floor.

My issue is that the boiler makes gurgling noises when it fires, almost as if it were boiling water and bubbles were forming. My neighbor has the same boiler and similar setup and his hardly makes a noise. The only difference is that my system has been filled with water and he thinks his was filled with a glycol solution the last time it was serviced.

I have been doing repairs on this system myself now for several years including replacement of valves, expansion tank, and recently the aquastat controller and air vent. It seems I have drained and filled this system once a year now for several seasons. When I fill the system, I make sure to place the discharge hose in a bucket so that I can watch until the bubbles clear as I cycle through each zone until I am certain that I have bled all the air out of the system. I am probably overly cautious in my attempts to try and eliminate the noise.

I have the aquastat set so that the boiler is operating in the range of 170 - 200 degF. The pressure gauge reads 25 psi. I cannot imagine that the noise is coming from boiling of the water as the noise begins almost immediately from a cold start. I recently replace the Taco air vent with a Honeywell EA122 because the Taco vents typically leak and I wanted to try something different and make sure the air vent wasn't the problem. The problem still exists. I am at a loss. Any ideas?

Sponsored Links
Old 10-18-12, 03:50 PM
NJT
It seems I have drained and filled this system once a year now for several seasons.
May be part of the problem... maybe not.