very basic question: steam heat not coming on

Old 11-03-12, 10:22 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
very basic question: steam heat not coming on

Please bear with me, I am a total novice at this.

Anyway I am trying to do some basic troubleshooting. I have steam heat, boiler uses natural gas. I cannot get it to come on (first time trying since last winter). I do not know much else about the system but I will try my best to supply any needed info.

The pilot light is on. On the thermostat (a typical 24v) there is a light that normally turns on when the heat is on, but the light is not coming on no matter what temp I set.

The pressure gauge on the boiler currently reads 0 psi. Earlier it did go very high (almost 15 psi) when I was having trouble with the automatic water feeder/LWCO. It seems the system was clogged in some way and the water feeder kept filling water, turning off briefly, and then coming back on again even tho the water level gauge was completely full. Eventually water started leaking out of the boiler, very rusty. Eventually I flushed out the rusty water and the water in the glass gauge returned to relatively clean looking.

After that the feeder stopped forcing water into the system and now the LWCO/feeder seems to be back to normal operation (?). The glass gauge still shows full/almost full. The pressure gauge has not moved from 0 since.

Is there any way I can do some basic troubleshooting before I call in a professional? I'd like to eliminate at least some of the very easiest problems that might be causing this.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Old 11-04-12, 12:50 AM
Received 32 Votes on 24 Posts
When you write that you are a total novice I suspect that means that you have not been performing routine maintenance on the boiler. Steam boilers are not the same as hot water boilers and they DO require maintenance more often than once a year.