Infloor heating

Old 11-06-12, 05:01 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Infloor heating

Not sure if this is the right forum or not, but here we go. Put infloor heating into my garage. Just using a 50 gallon hwt. Four loops each around 280', with R-10 blanket under slab. Poorly insulated walls so far. I have a 60 degree temp difference. Out at 160 and back around 100. I know I am running the tank to hot but am afraid to turn down as i don't think it will keep up. Was thinking my pump was too slow. Have the heat link maifold flow control to 1gpm. Any thoughts. Thanks !

Sponsored Links
Old 11-06-12, 05:38 PM
Received 8 Votes on 8 Posts
With a 60 deg differential, you are delivering mucho heat to the floor. What, exactly, is your problem? With just in-floor heating, it may not be practical to heat your whole garage? What temp do you want to maintain in the garage, and at what outdoor temp? Around here, garages are heated only to help start cars (really not required) or having a shop in the garage.

Old 11-07-12, 12:58 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What was the flow specification in the design of the system? At 1 gpm through 4 loops of 280 feet, that would be roughly one quart of water per minute through 280 feet of pipe. Viscerally, that rate of flow sounds low. 280 feet of 3/4 inch pipe would hold 300 quarts of water. So the change would be 1/300 of the volume per minute.

My shop is heated with hydronic heat in the floor, but has R13 walls and R 49 attic insulation. I don't know how fast my pump runs, but it is rated over 20 gpm.

My system has not run since before dawn, so I cannot check the inlet and outlet temperatures for you. My water heater is set under 140 degrees.

Since you are moving heat to warm a concrete slab, it seems that faster movement of the water would enable heating the slab faster. The thermostat would then turn the pump off until needed again.