HELP DIAGNOSE. . .TRANE XL80 has not heat

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-07-12, 03:27 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
HELP DIAGNOSE. . .TRANE XL80 has not heat

I replaced the circuit board and ignitor 1 month ago. This morning I have no heat and the FLASH CODE says: GREEN 1 Flash "STANDBY CALL FOR COOL". i DO HAVE GAS SUPPLY. i'M HEATING THE KITCHEN WITH GAS RANGE.
 

Last edited by danser1111; 12-07-12 at 03:32 AM. Reason: mispelled word
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-07-12, 03:39 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have tried to reset by turning the power off for 10 minutes with no luck. . .
 
  #3  
Old 12-07-12, 03:44 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
homeowner for this thread

I have tried to fix by turning off the power for 10 minutes without luck
 
  #4  
Old 12-07-12, 04:05 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Shut off your gas stove!!!! Are you trying to kill yourself?!

Slow flash (what you call a 1 flash) is normal operation/ standby. A fast flash is call for heat. It sounds like your thermostat is not calling for heat. Remove the thermostat and wire nut together the wires attached to R and W. DOes the furnace run now? IF so, this indicates you need a new thermostat. If not then you should try jumpering R and W on the control board of the furnace.
 
  #5  
Old 12-07-12, 04:43 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
owner

THANKS for quick reply! I have shut down the gas range. I connected the red and white thermostat wires and now I get code for "1ST Stage Pressure Switch Stuck Open/Inducer Error" I tapped on it a couple times and tried again without any luck.
 
  #6  
Old 12-07-12, 05:06 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
owner

I truely appreciate the help! I guess it's obvious now, I will have to replace that pressure switch and thermostat
 
  #7  
Old 12-07-12, 05:44 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
95% of the time it is NOT the pressure switch. Check the flue for obstructions. Check the port that the pressure switch goes to for debris. Ream it out with a small drill bit.
 
  #8  
Old 12-07-12, 07:13 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
owner

OK, Thanks. I'll go to roof and check for a birds nest
 
  #9  
Old 12-07-12, 01:31 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I thanked God today for you "HVACTECHFW". I'm thankful for unselfish folks out there willing to help an old man keep heat in the house while living on a budget.
You were correct, Sir. it was not the Pressure switch. I tracked it to the thermostat. I'm fixed. THANK YOU!
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: