Pressure Gauge reading 52-54 psi and "water rushing" Sound in the Base Board

Old 11-23-12, 01:44 PM
L
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Pressure Gauge reading 52-54 psi and "water rushing" Sound in the Base Board

Hello, I am a newbie in this forum, hope to get some answers to a couple of inquires related to my oil-fuel-boiler w/ fin-tube-water base board system. (attached are the reference shots of the boiler in my basement)
Since losing power due to Sandy, this is the first time I am back to my house. All electrical equipment works fine. The only issue was that I felt no heat on my base board upon start of my thermostat. I'd hear the motor sound but no "water-rushing" sound which I usually hear when my heat works. I still get hot water through the kitchen and bath faucets... Via web search, I figured it was the air trap'd in the pipe so I purged it from the pipe, which solved the heat problem. (Bottom-boiler picture attached is where I hooked the hose and removed the air by draining it with a hose.) Now, here are my 2 main questions below:
Q.1) Pressure gauge showed 54 before I purged air then went down to 52 - see picture "Pressure Gauge". This seems WAY too high than normal, which should be 12 psi? I am not sure it's always been that way since it's first time I carefully read the number. Is this a critical concern?
Q.2) "water rushing" sound when heat comes on the base board at start: from my readings, this issue can be solved by purging the air trapped in the pipes. I have a simple 1-zone system controlled by 1-thermostat. Is this simple enough to do it myself?
All advise would be greatly appreciated!

Attached Images    
Old 11-23-12, 01:56 PM
NJT
Received 8 Upvotes on 6 Posts
For starters, I have to ask you this:

Was the boiler flooded?

If so, my recommendation is to spend some of the FEMA money and get a professional in to look the system over. I see a number of possible 'issues' that should be looked over by a trained technician.