Oil burner with 2 zone radiant heat


  #1  
Old 01-08-13, 04:52 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Oil burner with 2 zone radiant heat

I have an oil burner with 2 zone heat. Zone 1 works great. Zone 2 the problem.

Change out the circulating pump and the aquatstat for that zone. When I set the thermostat to call for heat, circulating runs but the burner doen't fire. Look like another aquastat for zone 1 and zone 2 wires into it. What am I doing wrong?
 
  #2  
Old 01-08-13, 05:10 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,538
Received 7 Votes on 5 Posts
the aquatstat for that zone
What do you mean?

What model is this 'aquastat' you changed?
 
  #3  
Old 01-08-13, 05:36 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A Honeywell RA89A (zone 2 ) which I changed out. Honeywell L8124 (zone 1) did not change.

Zone 1 works well. Zone 2 , circulating pumps runs but boiler does not not fire.
 
  #4  
Old 01-08-13, 06:45 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,538
Received 7 Votes on 5 Posts
Ok, the RA89A is not an aquastat, it is a RELAY.

Look like another aquastat for zone 1 and zone 2 wires into it.
What does this mean?

Is it possible for you to take some pictures? I need to be able to see how this thing is wired... cell phone pics probably won't do.
 
  #5  
Old 01-08-13, 07:04 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How do I attach a photo to this forum?

 
  #6  
Old 01-08-13, 07:13 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,538
Received 7 Votes on 5 Posts
You won't see the icon if you use the "quick reply" window...

If you click on "+Reply to Thread" you will see an icon that looks a little like a tree in a picture frame.

Click that and you should get a box to upload from...
 
  #7  
Old 01-08-13, 07:23 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,538
Received 7 Votes on 5 Posts
Let me ask you a few more questions...

Have you lived with this system for some time and know for a fact that it did in the past fire the boiler when zone 2 called for heat?

The RA89A is what is called a SINGLE POLE relay. I presume that your thermostat is wired to terminals " T T " ?

and the circulator pump is wired to terminals 2 and 4,

and the 120 VAC line coming into the relay is wired to terminals 2 and 1 (black on 1, white on 2)

and there is a jumper bar between terminals 1 and 3 ?

Is this all correct?

-------------------------------------

Is the relay for zone 1 a different model? perhaps an RA832A

and if so, are the " X X " terminals in this relay wired to the " T TV " terminals in the 8124 ?

another aquastat RELAY for zone 1 and zone 2 wires into it.
Can you tell me what terminals these wires are connected to in both relays?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: