What causes a boiler to modulate its burner?

Old 02-22-13, 07:49 PM
G
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What causes a boiler to modulate its burner?

My guess would be an outdoor reset. If so, what determines the amount of modulation? How does the modulation match up with the house heat loss at outside temperatures that are above the design temperature, such as 30 degrees? What is a “heat curve” that I have seen referred to in other posts? Is this some kind of factory simulated heat requirement that a boiler tries to match? An inquiring mind wants to know. Thanks.

Old 02-22-13, 08:19 PM
F
Received 37 Likes on 29 Posts
My background is with commercial and industrial sizes boilers, not residential, but in all cases the boiler's burner is modulated under control of the desired output temperature. The burner is "throttled back" to a point where it can continue burning and not exceed the "setpoint" temperature. Outside temperature reset does NOT directly modulate the burner but only "resets" the desired output temperature setpoint.

The "heat curve" is a chart defining how much heat must be added to the structure to maintain a predetermined inside temperature under varying outside temperatures.

Old 02-22-13, 08:50 PM
Super Moderator
Received 78 Likes on 70 Posts
Basically the outdoor reset tells the boiler to maintain a certain temp according to the outdoor temps . Like in this graph.

Mod con boilers usually have a 5 to 1 turn down ration. So say a 75k boiler burner will run at 75,60,45,30, or 15k btu to maintain the corosponding temp.

So when its 60f out the boiler will only produce 90f water to heat the home, and burn at 15 or 30k btu. This saves energy.