new home owner with Laars Mini Therm 2. please advise

Old 02-27-13, 08:21 AM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
new home owner with Laars Mini Therm 2. please advise

sorry for the read. im a noob. thanks in advance. i have a gas powered hot water baseboard heating system. my house is roughly 2000 square feet. i have three zones. actually 4 including my hot water storage tank. i am trying to be as efficient as possible. my heating bill comes in at around 280 for the past two months. i was thinking this is rather high, considering my wife and i work full time, no kids (yet) and we keep the zones set at 63 when we are working and at the highest 67 when we are home.

in any event, my house doesnt get that warm. there were two conclusions i made. either heat is escaping or heat output isnt sufficient. i filled every crack i could find in my baseboards and in my door jams, i re insulated my crawlspace as best i could. still my house wouldnt get warm enough. i figured out the problem.

the water temp on my boiler was too low. it was set to 120 degrees. the water running through my baseboards wasnt putting out enough heat. i found the dial to increase the water temp to 165 and instantly i could feel a difference in heat output. my holds 66 degrees all the time now and my fiance and i are both happy.

NOW, im curious as to how much this will change my energy bill. im conflicting in how i think about this. one side tells me that if i raise my water temp, logic will say that i will raise my energy bill?! but i was also thinking that my heat wont be kicking on that much because there would be no need for my thermostats to call for heat. before when the heat was set at 120 degrees, my house was always freezing and every zone would constantly be calling for heat....every 20 min the heater would fire up and run for a bit.