Triangle Tube Boiler Electric Consumption

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-12-13, 05:29 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Triangle Tube Boiler Electric Consumption

Hi,
I recently had a Triangle Tube combo unit installed. We were told, and the literature states, that this is a high efficiency unit. We purchased it to replaced a converted oil-gas boiler. I've had two full monthly utility bills now, and I am not at all happy with the results. The gas usage has shown an improvement (reduction in use) of about 20%, which is OK, but the electric consumption has increased by 100%. That's no typo - our electric kWh usage has doubled since the Triangle Tube boiler went in. Nothing else has changed in the way the house is managed via electric use. No material changes to the thermostats, or our activities. The only difference is the new boiler. There was never any discussion about Triangle Tube boilers being inefficient in electric usage, and I see nothing in the literature that talks about it. I've asked the installing company to look into the matter, and awaiting an answer. I'm wondering if there is an electronics issue going on - perhaps the unit wasn't set up correctly, or something else. In the meantime, can someone with Triangle Tube experience briefly talk about the monthly electricity these units draw, and provide some possible insight? Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-12-13, 06:06 AM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
our electric kWh usage has doubled since the Triangle Tube boiler went in
How many KWh is 'doubled' ?

In other words, from HOW MANY KWh to how many? data?

Also, which model TT boiler?
 
  #3  
Old 03-12-13, 06:44 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks. It's a Prestige Combi Unit, and here's the monthly data compare:
Feb 2012 - 644kWh
Feb 2013 - 1028kWh
Mar 2012 - 673kWh
Mar 2013 - 1266kWh
No other major changes in house activities...but the electric usage is way up since the unit went in in January. Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 03-12-13, 08:43 AM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
That's like an extra 500 watts, running 24/7 ...

I don't think the boiler can possibly consume that much extra power without the smoke leaking out of it at some point. There would have to be someting SERIOUSLY wrong for it to do so, and it would be obvious, sooner rather than later.

It's a Prestige Combi Unit
OK, but what exact model... I want to look up the specs...
 
  #5  
Old 03-12-13, 08:59 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's a Trimax 110 PTE with the enclosed 14-gallon water tank unit, and to your comment, this unit sounds as though it's running 24/7, for some reason. I stated that observation to the installer company when I advised that the electric bill is thru the roof. And, the thermostats are programmables, and set to turn on/off between 64 and 69 degrees, same as before. So, I am assuming there is either something wrong in the unit's CPU, or it was set up improperly...whatever the cause, from my perspective, it has to be the new boiler as nothing else has changed in the household.
 
  #6  
Old 01-06-14, 08:55 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Solution?

Were you able to figure out your energy consumption issue? I also have a Triangle Tube Prestige boiler. It is the original boiler, new construction, so I don't have anything to compare it to. My electric bills have been, I feel, way to high, and they have doubled since the temperature dropped and winter arrived.
 
  #7  
Old 01-06-14, 11:21 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,676
Received 341 Votes on 319 Posts
I looked over the unit. It gets connected to a dedicated 15A circuit. There doesn't appear to be a current draw listed anywhere for the unit. There should be a tag on your unit. It will probably say something like 120VAC 8.5A 60hz. (let us know)

Since this boiler uses hi volumes of gas to heat it uses very little electricity. In looking at the internal schematic there is very little inside that uses a lot of electricity. Maybe a circulator pump. I can't really see this piece using a LOT of power.

Link to install and maintenance manual
Triangle Tube/prestige excellence.pdf
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: