Help replacing expansion tank.

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-25-13, 07:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Help replacing expansion tank.

I need help replacing a leaky expansion tank. My plan was to

1. turn off system.
2. Close zone valves to minimize water loss.
3. depressurize system
4. remove tank.
5. install new tank.
6. reverse process.

I was examining my system tonight and there is some sort of triangle shaped check valve? on top of the expansion tank. It' piped into on both sides. One side looks like a union so I'm pretty sure I can get it off.

What is this thing? Do I need it?

(of course my pics won't upload)
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-25-13, 08:21 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
If you can't get the pics to upload here it may be because they are too large.

Easiest way is probably to set up a free account at Photo and image hosting, free photo galleries, photo editing and upload them to a PUBLIC album there. Come back here and post a link to the album for us to view.
 
  #3  
Old 04-25-13, 08:27 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 699
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Just a guess but if brass maybe pos fill-trol.
 
  #4  
Old 04-26-13, 06:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Finally! Here are the pictures
 
Attached Images      
  #5  
Old 04-26-13, 07:25 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Good guess guyold. I did a search for fil-trol and that is it!! Now what do I do with it? Do I have to replace it with the same type?
 
  #6  
Old 04-26-13, 07:39 AM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
leaky expansion tank
The tank itself is leaking? Can't really see a leak in the pics.

Yes, you need to replace that tank with a Fill-Trol tank. You can not use an 'off the shelf' type because it will not have the 'push rod' that the Fill-Trol tanks have.
 
  #7  
Old 04-26-13, 08:04 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes it is leaking. There is a large rusty scale area in the shadow. It now has a drip about every 30 seconds.
 
  #8  
Old 04-26-13, 03:34 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
Why has the water softener been disconnected? Not a bad thing to have ya know... IF it works...

Do I have to replace it with the same type?
As mentioned previously, you do have to use a Fill-Trol tank with that valve. You do NOT have to replace the whole valve...

I suspect that is a model #110 ? If so, here is a source for your tank:

110-002 - Amtrol 110-002 - Model 110 Fill-Trol, Tank Only (4.4 Gallon Volume)

Here's the install instructions, explains a bit about the Fill-Trol system:

http://s3.pexsupply.com/manuals/1249...filltrolIO.pdf
 
  #9  
Old 04-29-13, 11:15 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The water softener has not been disconnected. Although the supply for my system is before the softener.

I was able just to unscrew the old tank and pop the new one on. With a little effort. It wasn't easy grabbing on to the tank alone without the valve as they don't give you a lot of room. I wasn't sure if the valve was part of the tank until I was at the plumbing supply store. $115 later and I was out the door with just a tank.

I'm pretty happy overall. The job went easily and quickly. You usually can't complain too much about that. Although half the price would have been better. Next time I will know.

I have been in this house for 2 years and this is the only time I have lived in a house with a boiler system.

Happy ending to a rusty tank. Thanks for all the help.
 
  #10  
Old 12-12-13, 07:59 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
110 fill -trol

So if I just isolate the tank I can just unscrew it and screw the new one in place and Im good to go ?
 
  #11  
Old 12-12-13, 09:10 AM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
So if I just isolate the tank
If you CAN isolate the tank... is there a valve between the Fill-Trol valve and the boiler?

You also need a shutoff in the line from the water supply. If your fill-trol valve is the type with the shutoff valve built-in, you need to close that valve.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: