Valiant Boiler no pressure

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-03-13, 01:54 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Valiant Boiler no pressure

Hello All,

I have what I initially thought to be a minor problem with my Valliant Ecotech Pro boiler.
Earlier in the week I switched off my central heating by turning the heating dial on the boiler fully anti-clockwise. The next day my wife called to say we had no hot water.
when I got home I checked the boiler and the pressure needle was 0, so having seen this before when I had bled the radiators I knew what to do.
However this time when I opened the ball valve on the refiller hose nothing happened.
If I turn the boiler off and on again I do get hot water but still I cannot re pressurise the system.
Yesterday the hot water went off again so I turned the boiler off & back on and its working again but still cannot re-pressurise it.
Does anyone know how I might resolve this problem?

Thank you.

Darren
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-03-13, 04:03 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Hi Daz, most of us are in the US and unfamiliar with heating equipment in the UK, but this seems like a 'normal' problem that we see here as well.

Here we generally use a 'pressure reducing valve' at the inlet to the boiler system. This valve is a pressure regulator, and they often get 'plugged' with 'crud'.

Looking at the manual, I do not see anything like that in your boiler though...

http://www.vaillant.co.uk/stepone2/d...tn%20maint.pdf

Is there any filter or valve in between the inlet ball valve and the boiler itself which could be plugged?

Not sure if this is from the manual for your exact model, but pay attention to the warning! I advise not to continue to cycle the power to get hot water until you get this problem repaired.

10.6 Avoiding low water pressure

To prevent damage to the heating installation caused by
low water pressure, the ecoTEC pro is fitted with a water
pressure sensor.

If the water pressure falls below 0.08 MPa (0.8 bar), the
boiler indicates low pressure by displaying a flashing pressure
value.

If the water pressure falls below 0.05 MPa (0.5 bar), the
boiler switches off.

The fault message F.22 appears in the display.
Top up the water and switch the boiler on again.
A flashing pressure value appears on the display until a
pressure of 1.1 bar or higher has been reached.

If you notice frequent drops in pressure, then
determine and eliminate the cause, i.e water
leaks in the system. Failure to do so along with
frequent topping up will result in system corrosion
and subsequent failures.
Did you see any flashing displays or fault codes?
 
  #3  
Old 05-17-13, 01:25 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank NJ, there is a small PRV inline with the water inlet its just a through pipe with a grubscrew. Ill take it apart and see if anything has clogged it over the weekend. Fingers crossed this solves it.
 
  #4  
Old 05-17-13, 06:27 AM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
I hope you have luck with this...

But, you should also investigate the reason for the pressure loss... for example, slow leak somewhere. Inspect all the piping.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: