Temporary removal of cast iron radiator to retile floor

Old 06-15-13, 08:20 AM
T
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Temporary removal of cast iron radiator to retile floor

I am remodeling the bathroom and need to temporarily remove the cast iron radiator to rebuild the floor and the wall behind it.

1) I have never done this before so any helpful information, no matter how basic it might seem to you, will be appreciated.

2) Clearly, I need to drain the radiator and stop the flow of water through the system. What is the correct way to do this?

3) Can I accomplish this without turning off the boiler? The boiler supplies the hot water to the house.

Thank you in advance!!!

Old 06-15-13, 10:34 AM
F
Received 36 Votes on 28 Posts
Yes, you will have to shut down the boiler. You will have to allow it to cool and then drain sufficient water to allow cutting (or disconnecting) the piping to the radiator without initiating a flood. Then you will need to either cap the cut/disconnected pipes or install a bypass pipe depending on the particular system.

Without knowing a whole lot more about your particular system it is impossible to give detailed information. Posting a couple of dozen pictures of the boiler and piping will be a good start. Pictures need to be well-lit and in focus. Posting to a photo-hosting site with the URLs posted here is the best method to use. Do not use tinypic as the forum software rejects tinypic.

Old 06-15-13, 12:01 PM
G
Received 13 Votes on 13 Posts
Is the bathroom right above a basement? If so, look at the piping from the basement to see if there is any chance you could jack up the radiator slightly to allow the new flooring to be installed. It's probably a long shot.

What type of radiators? Mine are cast-iron baseboards - when laying ceramic floor tile in a bathroom, I was able to slide the tiles under the radiator without moving or disconnecting the rads.