Retrofitting electric boiler controls

Old 08-12-13, 09:46 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Retrofitting electric boiler controls

Hi folks
I am in Roanoke VA and have a circa 1962 Electro Pak heat generator. They were out of Reading PA but I can find nothing more about them. Its a 68K BTU unit with 4 -5000Kw electric heating elements. 2 turn on when called for heat then 30 seconds later the others 2 come on until demand is met. Needless to say my electric bills are pretty hi during heating season and AEP just contacted me saying my budget amount is going up another 116.00/month to make up for the deficient incurred thus far during the year. The house was built 1926 and has radiators throughout. Its a 2 story with walk out basement and walk up attic. I am in the process of also air sealing and adding insulation in the attic hopefully before heating season.
Argo makes a unit that looks very similar in design as well as footprint to the Electro Pak. I am an electronics tech by trade so I was thinking I could retrofit a new electronics control system into the old panel.The Argo unit uses a 3Kw, a 4 kw and 2-5 kw elements so I might have to also change out 2 of the original elements. The board is 383.00 and the RTD is another 48.00 so for less than 500.00 I should be able to update the boiler.

Thoughts ,concerns, advice?

Sponsored Links
Old 08-12-13, 03:05 PM
NJT
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Hi Frank,

No chance of converting to a natural gas fired boiler?

5000Kw electric heating elements
Yikes! 5 MILLION watts per element! ... just funnin' witchya, I know that you meant 5 Kw.

Your first approach toward air sealing and insulating is the correct first step. Saving energy is all about just that, SAVING the energy INSIDE the home rather than allowing it to leak out all over the place.

Insulate the attic to at LEAST R40.

Pay particular attention to sealing all the air leaks. Air leaking in causes a BIGGER heat loss than lack of insulation.