heating zone won't shut off

Old 10-17-13, 05:49 PM
M
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
heating zone won't shut off

I have an old hot water heating system with 5 zones. One of the zones is heating the radiators even though the thermostat is set low. The zone valves are mechanical. I have tried rotating the set knob (open, auto, closed) back and forth with no change. Could the old valve be frozen in the open position. If so, can I add an electric valve above it? Could it be an air lock somewhere? The pump isn't running. The only radiators heating up are the 2 closest ones.

I'm new to this system and don't want to get ripped off. Any help would be appreciated.

Old 10-17-13, 05:59 PM
NJT
Received 4 Votes on 3 Posts
The zone valves are mechanical
They are?

Maybe what you are looking at is not a zone valve at all, perhaps it's a 'flow-check' valve.

The only radiators heating up are the 2 closest ones.
I suspect that what you are experiencing is known as 'thermosiphon', or 'gravity flow', or 'ghost flow', and probably some other not so nice names as well.

What this means is that the hotter water is 'floating' up into the zones because it is less dense than cooler water... and you are getting unwanted heat.

You will need to tell us a number of things:

1. make and model of the boiler.

2. make and model of the 'mechanical' zone valves.

3. some others I haven't thought of yet.

You will also need to take a bunch of pictures so we can see what you are working with and eliminate confusion that may come from nomenclature...

Old 10-17-13, 06:12 PM
S
Received 71 Votes on 67 Posts