Weil Mclain Ultra/DHW System Issues

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-12-13, 03:26 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 20
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Weil Mclain Ultra/DHW System Issues

My DHW is pushing out scalding hot water - much hotter than normal. Our faucets all have to be almost completely turned to cold to take a shower.

I checked my system out and the demand for heat is almost always taken up by the DHW. As a result, my heating system cant keep up with the cold temperatures outside and its mid 60's in my house.

The first winter I had the ultra/DHW system (which was winter 10/11), I had the same exact issue. The company replaced the thermostat first in the DHW, which didn't help and a few days later replaced the DHW completely. I haven't had many issues until now.

I have a feeling these issues are due to a bad installation. I read the manual when we first started having issues 3 years ago and found several things the installer left out which they ultimately fixed. Still they wouldn't install the outside temperature sensor and wouldn't install an air intake to the outside after asking. I was told my house wasn't sealed enough from the air to matter. Lastly, my system has never worked that well at heating the house when temperatures are low.

I really don't know what to do, because Im worried the same problems are going to happen again and again. When I contact the installer today to look at this issue should I expect this will be covered under warranty? I am considering contacting Weil Mclain directly to have a look at the installation just to make sure the boiler itself hasn't been damaged and to make sure the installation is correct. There are still a couple things done different from the manual? Any suggestions? I have kids and I don't want them to get burnt by the hot water or get sick because its so cold in here at night.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-12-13, 04:21 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,799
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
Still they wouldn't install the outside temperature sensor
So you have a boiler that runs at temps a normal boiler would run at. Not istalling this has done you a severe injustice.....

I take it you have a indirect?


Pics would help, but the istall probably is all wrong if they did not install the ODR...

I would demand it gets piped correctly...

Should have close spaced tees with p/s piping like this diagram...


Name:  wm111.jpg
Views: 6046
Size:  29.6 KB
 
  #3  
Old 11-12-13, 05:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 20
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Boiler photos | ringo311's Blog

A link to my blog with photos.
 
  #4  
Old 11-12-13, 11:45 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 20
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The installer is already trying to charge me $110 to come to my house.

I spoke to Weil McLain and they think it could be a piping issue.

Could the issue be as simple as stacking or moving the thermostat bulb higher (from troubleshooting manual) or is there a bigger issue?
 
  #5  
Old 11-12-13, 01:21 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
I'll take a closer look later, but my initial impression is that you may be missing a check valve on the line to the DHW. This could cause DHW to overheat, but it would have been doing this all along.
 
  #6  
Old 11-12-13, 03:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 20
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
upd

Thanks, I'd really appreciate it. I wish I could find answers.

I looked at that line and there is a check valve on the line. The only difference from the diagram is its on the other side of the pump. The arrow is pointing away from the hwh.

I took the temperature of the hot water out of the faucet today and it was nearly 180 degrees. We have had issues with varying temperatures in our house since they installed the boiler but not this hot. Normally we can't get cold water out of our faucets though. If you touch the copper line (domestic cold) coming out of the hwh the copper is warm.

Based on the advice of others, I unplugged the thermostat today. The demand switched to the boiler zones but the boiler didn't seem to fire. The temperatures in the boiler just kept dropping (to 100 degrees or so) and the pumps were continuously circulating water.
 
  #7  
Old 11-13-13, 04:16 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
I looked at that line and there is a check valve on the line
I see them in the drawing now... looks OK I think, and like I said, if it were issue with flo-check, you would be having it all along.

Still they wouldn't install the outside temperature sensor and wouldn't install an air intake to the outside after asking. I was told my house wasn't sealed enough from the air to matter.
That's just assinine. Outdoor sensor is integral part of the controls for maximum fuel savings.

In fact, the point that your home "...wasn't sealed enough..." is all the MORE reason, IMNSHO, to install the outside air intake. Why would you want to pump the inside air OUT, and the outside air IN? The idea behind 'sealed combustion' is to prevent the boiler from sucking the air from inside and pumping it out, while causing a lower pressure in the home which must suck outside air IN to replace it?

Lastly, my system has never worked that well at heating the house when temperatures are low.
Have you studied the manual and understand the " Heating Curve " part ? You may need to 'tweak' the settings... I'm sure that if your installers think that they didn't need to install the sensor or outside air intake, that they don't have a clue how to set that boiler up.

It does sound to me as if the aquastat on the DHW is continuously calling for hotter... hotter... hottest water.
 
  #8  
Old 11-13-13, 04:54 PM
poorplmbr's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: long island ,new york
Posts: 296
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sounds like a wiring issue..do you have an aquastat or a sensor for the DHW? I think there are two separate spots to wire those in and of course the controller would need to be programmed for each...As far as Pex-Al-Pex,the expander tool can not be used.Pex-Al-Pex requires a press tool specific to that tubing
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: